The Literarian Award, 2012


Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr. honored with 2012 Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community

Mitchell Kaplan

National Book Foundation bestowed its 2012 Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community on Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr., chairman and publisher of The New York Times, for his continuing efforts through the New York Times Book Review and online book coverage to ensure an ongoing conversation about books in American culture. While re-thinking and implementing innovative print and online initiatives at the Times, Sulzberger and the Times staff have shown their devotion to the coverage of books, whether by profiling authors and their work or reporting on literary culture as a whole. “It’s hard to overstate the impact of The New York Times on the discussion about books in America,” National Book Foundation Executive Director Harold Augenbraum said. For well over a century, The New York Times has been central to America’s book culture.”

This year’s ceremony marks the eighth year that the Foundation has presented the Literarian Award, which was established in 2005 to recognize an individual whose work has enhanced the literary world during a lifetime of service. Previous recipients include Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Robert B. Silvers and Barbara Epstein, Terry Gross, Barney Rosset, Dave Eggers, Joan Ganz Cooney, and Mitchell Kaplan.

Nominations for these awards are made by former National Book Award Winners, Finalists, and Judges, as well as other writers and literary professionals from around the country. Final selections are made by the National Book Foundation’s Board of Directors.