The National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 Guidelines

5 Under 35 Logo5 Under 35 is an annual prize that honors five young and promising fiction writers, each selected by a National Book Award Winner or Finalist. Previous 5 Under 35 Honorees include Phil Klay, Téa Obreht, Tiphanie Yanique, Justin Torres, Kirstin Valdez Quade, and Karen Russell.
As Honorees are selected at the discretion of the current selection committee of National Book Award Winners and Finalists, publisher cannot nominate an honoree or submit a book for consideration. However, the National Book Foundation does maintain a list of eligible authors (which they share with the selection committee upon request), and publishers may ask us to include authors as applicable.
Eligibility requirements are as follows: